Tags

, , ,

Image

 

Rhubarb curd… Of all the things I never thought I’d do, juicing rhubarb was near the top of the list.  However, that’s how I spent an evening — forcing puréed rhubarb though a sieve and wishing that I hadn’t broken my french press.  The results, though, were worth the effort.  The rhubarb brightens the buttery curd and makes it a delight on blueberry waffles.  Next time, though, I will whisk the butter at the end of the cooking process, like I usually do.  Adding everything at the beginning made the butter start to separate near the end and then solidify on the top of the curd when it cooled.  Although I skimmed most of it off, it still has a bit of a grainy texture.  On a hot waffle, freshly toasted bread, or a warm muffin, this graininess is unnoticeable.

However, processing the rhubarb to extract the juice meant that there was an awful lot of rhubarb solids left.  Having been reading about the value of using the “angel’s share” from Well Preserved, I didn’t want these to go to waste, so I made rhubarb crumble muffins:

Image

 

Unfortunately, we ran out of eggs, so I used some left-over egg whites in the fridge with some oil to simulate yolk, and, in doing so, ran out of neutral oil, so I used butter… They are not as tender as one might expect… Oops.  I really should learn to check the fridge for all of the ingredients before I start making something.  The puréed rhubarb didn’t add as much flavour as I was hoping, but I found a solution for that:

ImageIt just seemed appropriate.  Stay tuned for more rhubarb adventures!

