Tags

, , , , ,

So, after the wedding, Mark’s parents trimmed back their rhubarbs (they use them for decorative plants and wanted them untouched until after the rehearsal supper which was in their yard).  Because they only use it for crisp and still have a lot in their freezer from last year, they gave me the stalks they removed.  They dropped the shipment off while Mark and I were at the pool, so we returned to find this in our kitchen:

image

That, right there, is nine pounds of rhubarb — NINE POUNDS!  In looking for ideas about what to do with it, I found a variety of things: Rhubarb Vodka Jellies (a fancy jello shooter?), Rhubarb Curds, Rhubarb Muffins, Rhubarb Pies and Crumbles (with or without other fruits), Jams, Non-Alcoholic Jellies, Savoury Sauces, just for examples.  I think I’ve narrowed my list down to the following:
A French Rhubarb Tart
Vanilla Rhubarb Jam
Ginger Rhubarb Jam
Rhubarb Curd (maybe for a Rhubarb cake or trifle?)
Rhubarb Custard Pie
Rhubarb Muffins

It turns out that nine pounds is just enough to make everything I’d like to try.

