We finally got the correct potatoes in our bi-weekly food box!  The box contains an assortment of locally-grown food.  What we get in any given box is a bit random, but, at this point in the year, there’s a lot of potatoes.  This week, instead of the red ones that we typically get, we got some wonderful white potatoes.  So, I attempted making gnocci.  I’ve heard complaints that they are so much work and take so much time to make, so I don’t know anyone who really makes them.  However, I usually prefer recipes that take quite a bit of time and effort, so I wanted to try.  The Food Network’s recipe for it worked very well.  Baking the potatoes were very helpful, though I used 7 small potatoes so they would cook quicker (and because we had them).  I was worried that the dough would be too dry because of that, but, when I put it in the stand mixer, it because quite moist, so I had to add in a little more flour.  Two things to remember for next time.  1. Mix the dough less.  I think gluten strands formed a little when I forgot about it in the mixer while I was starting making cabbage rolls to freeze.  Oops.  2. Cut them into smaller pieces.  I prefer half-bite gnocci rather than two-bite gnocci… Other than that, they were quick and delicious.  Mark made a garlicy tomato sauce in his usual hundred-spice fashion, which went very well with the dumplings.  The recipe’s below!

First Attempt at Gnocci with Mark's Tomato Sauce

The Food Network’s Gnocci Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 large baking potatoes
  • 3 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 3 cups flour
  • Sprinkled sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Olive oil

Directions

  • Bake the potatoes until they’re tender when pierced with a fork, about an hour. Scoop the flesh out of potatoes and put into a large bowl.
  • While the potatoes are still a bit warm add the eggs, 2 cups of the flour, salt, pepper and nutmeg. Stir and knead until a dough forms, adding more flour if it seems too sticky. You may not need all the flour called for as potato sizes and moisture content vary. It is important not to add too much flour, or the gnocchi will be too dry.
  • Divide the dough into 4 even pieces and roll each piece into a 1” wide ‘snake’. Cut the long ‘snakes’ into 1” pieces.
  • Heat a large pot of water to boiling and salt it liberally. Drop the gnocchi into the boiling water and let them cook for 2-3 minutes, until they float to the surface. Drain well and toss with a bit of olive oil.

