For years, we’ve been making pizza crust from biscuit dough or from americanized pizza recipes.  They’ve been ok, but, after eating at a new bakery and pizzeria in town (which makes the best Italianesque pizza and coffee in the city), I’ve been hoping to find a better recipe.  I picked up a copy of Nancy Silverton’s The Mozza Cookbook on an impulse: I had recognized it from my list of Goodreads recommendations and thought I should try it out.  I didn’t realize when I got it, but there is a pizza recipe (accompanied with detailed instructions).  I got some mozza and prosciutto from a local cheese shop, made tomato sauce from our tomatoes and basil, and got arugula .  I had planned to make it on Wednesday because I have a class from 8:30 to 9:30 and the rest of the day free.  I didn’t quite understand how long it would take to make the dough, so I thought that I could make it for lunch.  That didn’t happen.  It took from 10:30 to 4:00 to make the dough, but it was worth it!  My first attempt to shape the dough wasn’t great — I didn’t realize that the “piano-playing-like tapping” step was designed to minimize the air bubbles in the middle of the dough, so I attempted to stretch the dough.  I realized its purpose on the second pie which turned out much better.  The four pages of tips and pictures included in the book helped greatly.  It was a lot more fun than the dough we’ve made in the past, which is just rolled out and cut.  There was also some difficulty with cooking them, though: we don’t own a pizza stone or a peel.  I tried placing an overturned baking sheet directly on the bottom of the oven, but the baking sheet wasn’t big enough to fill the entire floor.  We ended up forming them on the bottom of baking sheets and placing those on top of the baking sheet on the oven floor.  It made removing them from the oven much easier.  If we end up making them often, I might ask for a stone and peel for Christmas, but this method seemed to work out well.  Despite the slightly oddly shaped first attempts and the difficulties cooking, it was the best pizza I’ve ever had.  The crust was flavourful and chewy with a large, bubbly cornicione.  The toppings were flavourful and complimented the dough well.  We used Moresca extra virgin olive oil to brush the crust (which went well with the dough) and a nice kosher salt which definitely enhanced the flavour.  I’m looking forward to making them again.  The next time I do, I’ll remember to take pictures.

